Sing us a song Piano Man

Hello bloggers,

Literature comes and goes but let me be a bit more specific.

According to Merriam-Webster’s dictionary, literature is defined “written works (such as poems, plays, and novels) that are considered to be very good and to have lasting importance.”

Music plays a part in this definition. What are music notes without some meaning behind them?

Lyrics = poetry

Some music can tell stories in two minutes what it takes authors a lifetime to describe. I have been overwhelmed by some songs that remind me of old memories, happier occurrences and some of the worst battles I’ve faced in my 21 short years on this sometimes wonderful and wretched planet.

Some artists have the ability to promote stronger relations to a song that those I compare to some of my favorite novels and pieces of poetry.

The world of scholars or dictionary writers can define literature however they like. For me, its anything that makes me fall in love with an arrangement of words.

Billy Joel did this for me.

“Sing us a song, you’re the piano man

Sing us a song tonight

Well, we’re all in the mood for a melody

And you’ve got us feelin’ alright”

Thats right Mr. Joel

You have me feeling all right.

Thanks for reading,

-Casey

Leave a Reply

