Relentless writing from a reader hoping to be read

Hello bloggers,

This week, notoriously known as dead week, is kicking my ass but it’s only gonna get me down if I let it; I refuse to let it.

I’ve procrastinated past the point of “oh this is fine.” I’ve now transitioned into the “I need to get my shit together” phase. Somehow I’m still sitting in the library, attempting to study, listening to Peter Gabriel and I really do feel fine.

Part of being a journalist is being a deadline driven.

I’m not sure I function in the well-planned. I’m also not a fly by the seat of my pants kind of girl but I am the kind of girl who puts everything off to curl up with a book instead of responsibility. The kind of girl who drinks three cups of coffee in the morning then goes without it for week. I’m the kind of girl who falls in love fast, with words, people and macaroni and cheese.

I’m also the kind of girl who wants to be read. I want to inspire the way some books have inspired me to keep reading, growing and pushing past the point of “this is fine” to the “this is extraordinary.”

One of my favorite poems describes me perfectly today, so here it follows:

Canoe

by: Keith Douglas

Well, I am thinking this may be my last summer, but cannot lose even a part of pleasure in the old-fashioned art of idleness. I cannot stand aghast at whatever doom hovers in the background…

I’ll leave it at that.

lots of love from yours truly,

-thanks for reading,

Casey

Leave a Reply

