Recommendations from a reader

Hello bloggers,

Today is a wonderful day for recommendations from a reader, I don’t expect everyone to go out and buy all of these books but at the least know that they are near and dear to my heart and most certainly worth the time. So without further hesitation, let me jump right in.

1) “Dear Mr. Henshaw” by Beverly Cleary

2) “Poems That Make Grown Men Cry: 100 Men on the Words That Move Them” by Various

3) “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime” By Mark Hadden

4) “Mosquitoland” by David Arnold


Starting from the top to the bottom, I think it is important to note that each of these books are in a wildly different category or some are anyway. “Dear Mr. Henshaw” is a children’s book but one of the most wonderful children’s books you will every brave. The book of poetry I recommended is only wonderful because it offers so much substance to nearly anyone who reads it. The book is filled with descriptions of why these men felt so strongly about certain pieces of poetry, I think there is certainly something for everyone to enjoy. 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime” is told from the perspective of a boy with autism, I happened about this book by accident when I was looking through plays that were to appear on Broadway, this book was adapted to a Broadway show and though I haven’t seen it, I know it must be wonderful if it is anything like the book. I must have read it a half dozen times and enjoyed the next time even more than the last. If you are a young reader, you’ll enjoy it because it’s a very easy read. 


4) “Mosquitoland” is one of my all time favorite novels and I don’t care if it is a young adult novel, its wonderful and for all intent and purpose, I am a young adult. The heroine, if you will, travels across the country and meets some interesting people along the way while trying to get back to her mother.


These brief summaries are my own, so please go and check out some of these beauties, I enjoy them and I think you will too. 


Thanks for reading, 

-Casey

Leave a Reply

