I could hear everyone’s heart

Hello bloggers,

I only felt it appropriate that my readers, if there are any, understand the reasoning I had behind a blog that’s core revolves around literature and why I love it. For you to understand why I love literature, you must understand why I am myself. Books became my escape at a very young age – this is not going to be a sappy post about how I had a rough childhood and my saving grace was a book – though I do love Matilda. Those of you who realize it was, yes a book, long before it was a movie, I applaud you. However, It was a way for me to paint a different world than the reality I was stuck with and the truth be told, there is nothing better that using your imagination to make a world mostly what you want it to look like. I think it’s important that everyone find at least one book in the world that makes them fall in love with reading the way I did. For me, it was “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott. I simply wanted to be as carefree as Jo March, reading allowed me to do that. I know I won’t be able to utilize my writing skills to coax everyone to read but I damn sure intend to try. To my family I am but a bookworm but that’s not an insult, though at 10 years old, I was sure that I would die of embarrassment every single time my dad would rattle away about my habits of being nose deep in a book. At 21 years old, I realize books are a part of me and I decided long ago to love everything about myself because you can’t count on other people to do that for you. So, this blog will be about books, short stories, poetry and anything else I deem fit.

As for the name of my blog, to some I think I owe an explanation. Raymond Carver wrote, “What We Talk About When We Talk About Love” in 1981 and in that short story is one of my absolute favorite quotes.

“I could hear my heart beating. I could hear everyone’s heart. I could hear the human noise we sat there making, not one of us moving, not even when the room went dark.” 


This is how he chose to end the story and it was brilliant, so this is how I am choosing to end my introduction.  Thank you for reading.

-Casey

Leave a Reply

