Feminist, Elizabeth Bennet, woman killer

Hello Bloggers,

Probably one of my all time favorite quotes ever:

“In marrying your nephew, I should not consider myself as quitting that sphere. He is a gentleman; I am a gentleman’s daughter; so far we are equal.”-Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice, slapping Lady Catherine in the face with wit, as well deserved.

Boom.

The ultimate comeback for a woman who was considered, at the time, insignificant to the man who wanted to be with her, or for the record, the man she wanted to be with too.

You go, Miss Bennett.

I love heroines but more importantly than that, I love women who are in charge of their lives. Austen knew what she was doing and hats off to her for being such a killer in the realm of writing and understanding the world for what it was, long before most people did. A world suppressing the God-given rights of people, yes just people. That is all we are. What better way to prove this than with your mind?

God, I love learning.

Austen, I do love your enthusiasm to rid the world of what troubled it with your writing, I hope to do just that one day.

Thanks for reading,

-The lady who loves lit,

Casey

Leave a Reply

